Department of Real Estate

Advisory Board

The Steven L. Newman Real Estate Institute Advisory Board is comprised of top leaders in the real estate industry.

The Advisory Board provides guidance and support to the Institute in such areas as curriculum development, internship programs, job opportunities, research issues, and the expansion of the Department’s new focus on international real estate education and conferences.

Dennis Friedrich (CEO, Brookfield Property Partners – Global Office Division) is the Chair and William Newman is the Honorary Chair of the Department’s Advisory Board.

Advisory Board members also participate in networking events with degree students at the William Newman Department of Real Estate, including the Advisory Board Speaker Series and the Advisory Board Mentor for the Day Program.

The current members of the Advisory Board are:




Debbie Bernstein

Account Executive

MRP Lawrence Marketing

Kenneth  Bernstein

President & CEO

Acadia Realty Trust

Kyle Bolden


Ernst & Young

Byron Carlock

National Partner, Real Estate Practice Leader

PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP.

Douglas Durst


Durst Organization, Inc.

Daniel Egan

VP, Sustainability and Utilities

Vornado Realty Trust

Dennis  Friedrich


TKF Real Estate Investment

Francis J. Greenburger

Chairman and CEO

Time Equities, Inc.

David Henry

Retired Chairman and CEO – Kimco

Peaceable Street Capital

Paul Ingrassia

Managing Director and Group Head of North American Real Estate and Lodging Group within Investment Banking

Citi Global Markets Inc.

Adam Jacobs

Real Estate, Lodging and Leisure, High Grade Credit Research

New York Life Investors LLC.

Sandy Klein


Shanholt Glassman Klein Kramer & Co.

Stuart Koenig

Senior Partner & COO

Ares Management, L.P.

A. Mitti Liebersohn

President and Managing Director, New York City Office

Avison Young

Joseph Macnow

Executive Vice President of Finance & Administration/Chief Financial Officer/CAO

Vornado Realty Trust

Philip A. Marra



Joe Moinian


The Moinian Group

Peter Musso

Portfolio Manager

Capital One Community Finance

Miki Naftali

Chairman & CEO

The Naftali Group

Jim Oswald


Head of NY Real Estate Tax at Deloitte

Richard Pergolis


Pergolis & Associates, Inc.

Robert A. Rosen

Chairman & CEO

Rosen Associates Management Corp.

Nancy J. Ruddy

Founding Principal

Cetra Ruddy Architecture D.P.C.

Glenn Rufrano



Joshua Schuster

Managing Principal

Silverback Development

Frank J. Sciame

Chairman & CEO

F.J. Sciame Construction Company, Inc.

David Simon

Chairman and CEO

Simon Property Group

Shaunak Tanna

Head – Structured Investments

Basis Investment Group

Margaret  Waters

Principal – Real Estate Funds

Bessemer Trust

Steven A. Wechsler

President & CEO


Jaime Weiss


Weiss Realty Co. Inc.

Barry Ziering

Managing Director

Guggenheim Partners


Advisory Board Speaker Series - Spring 2019
Advisory Board Speaker Series
Advisory Board Mentor for the Day Program